Free Lunchtime Concert

    12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Fri, Mar 14, 2014

    Venue: Arlington Town Hall

    730 Massachusetts Avenue, Arlington, MA 02476

    +Save to My Trips

    0 people saved this

    Opal Ensemble, a trio of professional musicians that aims to surprise and delight audiences with performances of an array of different musical works, presents "March Thaw: Dreaming of Spring" -- a free one-hour lunchtime concert. Thanks to a 2014 Arlington Cultural Council grant, Todd Brunel (clarinet), Anne Black (viola), and Paul Carlson (piano) will perform an exciting program featuring four virtuosic works of the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries. Excerpts from "Eight Pieces, Op. 83" by Max Bruch, whose musical style embodies the ideals of 19th-century Romantic classicism, will be followed by two compositions by living composers. Libby Larsen's "Black Birds, Red Hills" draws inspiration from Georgia O'Keeffe paintings of the American southwest, while "Focal Point" -- a piece composed for Opal Ensemble by Pamela Marshall of Lexington, Massachusetts -- provokes a colorful, energetic interplay between the trio's instruments. The final offering on the program is a charming, emotional, humorous, and exuberant piece by French composer Jean Françaix. Founded two years ago, Opal Ensemble has a rich collective experience playing diverse music with the most prominent classical and jazz ensembles in the Boston area. The group hopes to establish an ongoing lunchtime concert series in Arlington with the aim of engaging Arlington center's vibrant business district and reaching members of the community of all ages and backgrounds.

    Trustees Literary Trail

    In addition to the miles of beautiful wooded trails, open beaches, and green pastures found...

    Read Today's Blog Post

    Want to see more?
    Search All Listings Here.