Appalachian Spring

7PM Sun, Apr 7, 2013

Venue: Shalin Liu Performance Center

37 Main Street, Rockport, MA 01966


Rockport Music


+Save to My Trips

0 people saved this

Appalachian Spring by Aaron Copland (1900-1990) was originally written as the score for a thirteen-member chamber orchestra (double string quartet, bass, flute, clarinet, bassoon, and piano) for a ballet commissioned by Martha Graham and premiered in 1944 at the Library of Congress in Washington DC. Copland received the Pulitzer Prize for Music for the work. Copland originally called the piece Ballet for Martha, but shortly before the premiere Graham suggested the title Appalachian Spring, a phrase from the Hart Crane poem The Dance. The word 'spring' in the poem actually refers to a water source, not the season. In 1945 Copland arranged the ballet score as an orchestral suite, and further expanded it in 1954 at the request of Eugene Ormandy. PERFORMED BY BOSTON CONSERVATORY ORCHESTRA STUDENTS RUSSELL GER, conductor Lecture: Dr. Elizabeth Seitz

MA Spotlight on Carole Copeland Thomas

Enriching Multicultural Tourism in Massachusetts Carole Copeland Thomas is a thought leader and public speaker...

Read Today's Blog Post

Want to see more?
Search All Listings Here.