Lexington Symphony: Music of Masters

    Sat, Apr 5, 2014

    Times: 8:00 pm; Conductor's Talk at 7:00 pm

    Venue: Cary Hall

    1605 Massachusetts Avenue, Lexington, MA 02420

    +Save to My Trips

    0 people saved this

    Led by Music Director Jonathan McPhee, Lexington Symphony presents the fifth concert of its 2013-2014 "Music of Masters" season with a program that subtly celebrates and explores the idea that the sum of the parts of a musical piece can be greater than any distinct characteristic, sound, or voice. Included in the evening's lineup is Mendelssohn's Hebrides Overture, a piece that manages to use musical sounds to capture the essence of the Scottish Hebrides, with its cold, bleak, and windswept bogs. Martin's Concerto for 7 Wind Instruments will also be performed. This composition first gives each of the seven winds an opportunity to be the concerto soloist, and then introduces the percussion instruments, building to a large ensemble performance. The last piece offered on this illuminating program is by Beethoven, who succeeds with his unforgettable Symphony No. 7 in combining the very simplistic elements of melody, rhythm, and harmony to create a towering masterpiece. A pre-concert Conductor's Talk with Jonathan McPhee will be offered at 7:00 p.m. Tickets are priced at $50/$40/$30 (students $15) and can be purchased online at www.lexingtonsymphony.org, by telephone at 781-523-9009, or at the door.


    The Borsch Belt Comes Alive Again in Amherst

    Growing up in New York’s Catskills region in the 1980s and ’90s, Marisa...

    Read Today's Blog Post

    Want to see more?
    Search All Listings Here.